Solicitation is a serious crime in Michigan
On Behalf of Kirsch Daskas Law Group | Nov 24, 2020 | Criminal Defense
Solicitation of sexual services is illegal in Michigan. Many people don’t realize how serious these charges are, however, until they’re facing them.
What happens with a basic solicitation charge?
Trying to hire someone for sexual acts is illegal here. The payment doesn’t necessarily have to be for money. It’s also possible for a person to face this charge if they offer gifts or favors as compensation for some kind of sexual contact.
The first two times a person is charged for solicitation, the charge is a misdemeanor that can lead to up to 93 days in jail and a fine of up to $500. The person might also have to register as a sex offender and may have to serve time on probation or do community service. On a third offense, the charge is a felony.
What happens if you solicit a minor?
Solicitation of a minor is a felony offense in Michigan. This charge doesn’t necessarily have to involve payment of any sort. Simply trying to pick up a minor who is under 16 years old for anything related to sexual contact can result in this charge. It doesn’t matter if you know the person’s real age or not when it comes to this charge. It comes with a possible 4-year prison term and a fine of up to $4,000 for a first offense.
Anyone who is facing any sex-related charge in this state should ensure they speak with their attorney quickly. This helps them to have time to consider their defense options without having to rush their decisions. The penalties of these crimes are serious, and some like having to register as a sex offender are far-reaching.